September!

No WAY!!  Where did summer go and why don’t I feel rested and refreshed???

Ah, well.  What can you do?

School officially starts Tuesday for us.  I’m excited about it, but I’m not so sure about the kids.  🙂 The Sgt is excited about school, too, but his classes don’t start for a couple more weeks.

I’m probably not going to start any craft or deco projects in the near future, but I have a list of them waiting in the wings.  A couple of projects that I am going to work on slowly but surely are my bedroom and the basement.  Both have become Storage Hell.   I hate when that happens!  It doesn’t get that way overnight and it doesn’t get fixed overnight, and unfortunately, I look at it and decided to think on it overnight instead of working on it!

We’re currently trying to pare down our wardrobes to a manageable amount of clothing.   I don’t think any one person needs 90 t-shirts.  Call it a hunch!  I kid you not.  Someone in this house had more than 90 t-shirts!

I had a great aunt who was a hoarder and had boxes and boxes of stuff sitting around in her house.  What a mess!  I do NOT want to fall into the trap of being possessed by my possessions.  Our laundry area is a disaster.  We have all of these clothes, cramped places to put them, and too many to reasonably keep clean and put away, so we’re donating, rag-bagging, or pitching those things which we do not need, starting in the laundry area!

I would love to get some feedback on what type of clothing you think is necessary and in what quantity and why. The following is a preliminary list I made before we started thinning out clothing.  We haven’t gotten to the bottom of the dirty laundry pile yet, so we haven’t finished donating and pitching, and therefore I have no idea if my list is reasonable.  If anyone has any suggestions, by all means, share with the rest of the class.  (This is supposed to be worded flexibly enough to work for either a dude or a chick.)

2 sweaters
2 sweatshirts
6 decent t-shirts and 1 really grubby one for working
2-3 pr decent jeans and 1 grubby
3-4 pr decent shorts
6 church shirts – 3 long sleeve, 3 short sleeve.
3 pr church pants/skirts – 1 black, 1 blue, 1 tan/khaki
2 pr dark dress socks, clothes pinned together when not in use
4 pr shoes – 1 athletic, 1 casual, 1 dress, sandals/flip flops

Cool weather – 2 heavy coats, 2 light jackets – 1 each for looking decent, 1 each for outdoor chores
1 snow pant, 5-7 pr warm socks, 2 pr boots – 1 decent, 1 work

This entry was posted in Life and Living, The Home and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

