Last week, I planted …

Hydrangeas!!  It’s the middle of the night and I can’s sleep, so I’ll blog.

Thanks to my friend who told me about a greenhouse that has good plant sales at this time of year, I was able to get a couple of hydrangeas and a hibiscus for 50% off!  The stems and leaves on this hydrangea look a lot perkier today but the other one’s dinna look so good.

While I’ve reveled in the peaceful solitude, I have had time to think about, look at and rethink about my yard.  I’ve struggled with what kind of a witness I am that I can’t keep up with my yard.  I mean doesn’t every good Christian keep everything neat and tidy all of the time to show that God gives us superhuman strength and endurance to accomplish everything we want to do and to accomplish it in a timely manner?

The short answer is no!

The longer answer is that sometimes we take more upon ourselves than God intends and waste a lot of time on things that don’t matter.  And let’s face it.  Sometimes it’s the yard that doesn’t matter.  Sure, it irritates the property value nazis, but there are things that are more important than how the yard looks, like spending time doing something fun for once with the kids who haven’t seen their Dad in months.

Anyway, when I moved into my little cottage, there were plants and “weeds” everywhere, mostly perennials.  The grass hadn’t been mowed in a couple of weeks or longer.  There were dead trees that looked more like planted sticks along one side of the house.  Everything was overgrown, and it was a mess!  I think the woman who lived here was a single mother of a teen.  I can’t imagine trying to keep up with all of the plant life without help!  I would totally understand if she moved into an apartment!

It took a few days, but I eventually got the “weeds” pulled and the rough edges clipped into submission for the time being.   This place had lots of potential back then. Especially as long as my Dad was willing to let us borrow his lawnmower.

*sigh*

Thankfully, this place still has potential.  One plant that was abundant back then was the hosta.  I had no idea how much more I would come to appreciate hostas in the years to come than I did in the beginning.  We have hostas that came from plants that were originally planted on this property in the 60’s.  That variety was well established and so pretty when we got here!  Lots happened that caused them to dwindle. (Can you say “dogs”?)  Thankfully, while they never completely died out here, I had shared many of them with my mother, and she gave me a couple of clumps to bring back. She had considered mowing them down at one point, but I talked her out of it and brought some home.  I was so glad that she took them way back when we built our dog run.  I offered them to her because I hated to see them get trampled by the dog and I didn’t know what else to do with them.

With all of my food issues, while I was not what I’d call “sickly”, I was sick enough to not really care about much of anything outside of my house for quite a while.  Four years ago or so, I was told about gluten by my doctor, and since eliminating that, soy and a couple of other things, I have regained some energy.  At that time, I started thinking about my yard again and what I could do to rein it in.  I had been thinking about my favorite hostas and what a shame it was that they were all gone.

Well, I discovered that there was one clump left, still within reach of dogs (the whole yard was fenced by then), but in a rarely used path, so as soon as I had time (I made time!) I moved them to a safe place where they absolutely thrived that spring and summer.  I was thrilled!!  I needed them to continue thriving long enough to put them back where they once were before dogs.

In the meantime, a friend had given me some of her hostas and I had moved some others in my yard to other places just to see how they’d do.  It has been an uphill battle and lots of plant shuffling to get this yard into some semblance of order – and still far from “there”. But it is so worth the time and energy!

This picture was taken in the beginning of May.  The clump of tall hostas are nearly twice as tall and have gained about a third of the width you see here.  I ❤ those things!

Next week, we paint.

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

