Transformation Tuesday – July 5th

It has been a while since I’ve even looked at this blog!!  Last time I was here, I planned to make a sofa slipcover for one of my couches.  What I ended up doing was buying one at Big Lots for one of them and then buying a 12′ x 15′ canvas drop cloth from Lowe’s for the other and trimming and hemming it by hand.

It looks so much better in my living room when both slipcovers are on and clean and neat!

One problem I had not anticipated is that my son’s dog would attempt to shred both slipcovers almost right off the bat.  Stoopid dog!!!  I was stumbling through my basement one day and the kennel caught my eye.  Aha!!  That’ll fix you, Mr. Ruinator of The Few Nice Things In This House!

I had a couple of the boys rearrange the dining room for The Ruinator’s kennel and then they brought it upstairs and got it situated for him.  The very first time his master said, “Go nigh-night,” he went right into his kennel and sat down.  However, the very first time we locked him in there when we were gone, he peed outside of the thing and onto my floor!  That was pretty frustrating, but he has not done it since.  I am very relieved about that.  The Sgt won’t let us live without dogs, and I cannot bear the thought of being stuck with a dog that is bent on destroying my house.  It’s bad enough without their contributions!

Last fall, I painted my front entryway.  What a difference!   and I am thrilled to use it for something other than passing through!  It’s the one place on this entire property that doesn’t get trashed.  I can just sit there and read if I have the time.  I have been spending a lot of time out there trying to read lately.  For more than a year, I have felt like my “On” switch has been over used.  It feels like I have had to be at the beck and call of everyone else all hours of the day and night with fewer resources than needed for almost the entire time.  I am so glad for graduation, summer and that the two mission trips are coming to an end in the near future.  The pace at which things have come at me has seemed non-stop and rapid fire.  That has been exhausting.
Anyway, I’m feeling so refreshed without some of the responsibilities I had carried all school year.  I’m almost refreshed enough to plan school for the fall semester.  Almost.
May God bless you and remind you in big ways and small that He cares for you. 🙂

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

