A sleepless night

What could be better than starting Friday on a Thursday??

I was tired at one point tonight but the feeling went away. It might’ve been when one of the dogs started whining. If not then, it definitely had to be when he jumped the baby gate and headed from the kids’ room to mine to let me know they weren’t waking up to let him out. Fine. Outside, Mr. Naked Dog.

Brrr. It’s cold out there. I wish we had a few feet of snow to make it worth it. Oh well. We’ve got snow and that’s the main thing.

To be completely open and honest about my housekeeping skills, my bedroom is the junk room. It has been the junk room for several years and I hate it. I feel overwhelmed at the thought of trying to keep it clean. I’m going to whittle away at it until I get tired, since I’m wide awake. Who needs sleep?

… What is that noise??? … What the heck?? One of my children has an alarm going off at 4 frickin’ a.m. Maybe the dog set it so they’d remember to let him out.

Anyway, for a long time, I have not been able to muster the ability to see a big mess as a series of smaller projects. I’m not sure why. The best I can figure, my brain is going in a hundred different directions and I don’t know how to rein it in.

So this week, by God’s great grace, I have started thinking in “series’ of smaller projects” mode. My dining room, a secondary junk room, is in chaos, but it is getting better. I was able to sort through some things in the basement, the bane of my domestic existence, and make a path to my ill-placed file cabinet so that I can file a mountain of papers that have a designated holding area in the aforementioned dining room.

I swear! Paper clutter is like a domestic cancer that sucks the life out of this home. I am so sick of it!! Thank You, God, for giving me the brain power to start getting that under control!! I know You didn’t mean for me to let things get this bad, and I thank You for giving me what I need to get out of this mental and emotional hole I’ve been living in. Thank You for the energy to start working on this mess little by little. Help me to bless You with this energy and brain power You’ve given me! In Jesus’ holy and precious name, the Name that is above every name, Amen.

2 Corinthians 12:8-10 (English Standard Version)

8 Three times I pleaded with the Lord about this, that it should leave me. 9 But he said to me, “My grace is sufficient for you, for my power is made perfect in weakness.” Therefore I will boast all the more gladly of my weaknesses, so that the power of Christ may rest upon me. 10 For the sake of Christ, then, I am content with weaknesses, insults, hardships, persecutions, and calamities. For when I am weak, then I am strong.

This entry was posted in Deployment, On the brink. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

