The stuff of life

Here I am, living for myself again.

Each day I tell myself I’m going to read my Bible and spend some time with God, and each day I get distracted.  I hate when that happens!

This blog is a distraction for me, but I really want to keep a log of this deployment from the perspective of the people at home, so I’m going to plunge ahead and share about something that happened.

I was recently hospitalized with pancreatitis.  That was a lot of fun. Nothing like hospital garb to instill a strong desire for dignity!  The nurses and assistants were fantastic, though, so that helped. Still kinda dealing with the pain, but if I’m careful, I can feel normal.

We’re going to try to get a Y membership this week.   I ran in the hall at the church this afternoon and nothing hurt!!  That made me want to get onto a treadmill and see how far I can run.

One of the kids starts driver’s ed next week.  That’ll be fun!  Most people don’t think so, but I enjoy having someone else drive.

We’re in the process of saying goodbye to someone special.  He has a new job and his moving his family to another state. We’re sad for us, but happy for him.

FIL was diagnosed with cancer a couple of weeks ago.  That same day we found out the aforementioned friend.  It did make me almost paranoid about all of the men in our lives getting moved to other places, except for the fact that God, the El Sali, is in control and uses every situation, good and bad for the good of those who love Him and are called according to His purpose.

I’m in charge of planning a youth girls Christmas party.  I’ve never done that before.  I feel like I’ve bitten off more than I want to chew, and I’m afraid to fail.  I don’t show it, but on the inside, I’m paralyzed with insecurity.

We’re going through Crazy Love in youth group.  I love that book and need to finish reading it.

A young woman from church brought us dinner tonight. It was excellent, and it was abundant!  I need to figure out a way to bless her!!  She was so sweet to go to all of that trouble!  🙂

Well, I really need to read my Bible and pray before I go to bed.

This entry was posted in Church, Deployment, Life and Living, The Unknown. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

