Learning experiences

We’ve been prepping for Trunk or Treat at church.  I’m a little nervous.  We pass out treats at our house on Halloween, and we don’t usually feel the pressure to decorate or dress up.  Oh well.  It’s going to be fun.  A friend loaned me a costume, and I think I know what the kids can use.

I bought a replacement a/c adapter for my laptop last week.  I got it in record time!  Unfortunately, I did not read the auction as well as I should have and discovered when I got it that it is not as powerful as the one I’m replacing.  It doesn’t charge while my laptop is powered up, but I was willing to live with that.  What I didn’t realize until the end of the day is that it doesn’t charge my battery at all!
You know, I usually save all packing material in the original shipping container or product package until well after the warranty runs out.  I didn’t this time.  I threw the plastic, complete with labels, into the trash.

Guess what?  I cooked pasta that day.  Gluten free pasta.  Gluten free pasta which leaves quite a bit of pasta sludge in the bottom of the container into which I had strained the pasta, the kind of sludge that one would dump into the garbage, not the sink.

Ugh!

Once I realized that I would, in fact, need a different adapter, I scrambled to get the packaging (complete with labels!) out of the trash.  What a mess!

It’s at this point that I would like to share a couple of things.

1.  The entire time I was removing the adapter, which came in two parts, from its packaging, the thought was in my head that I should be careful in case I need to return it.

2.  I ignored what most Christians know as the Still Small Voice.  I ignored it when I was opening the package.  I ignored it when I was gathering all of the debris.  I even ignored it when I dumped the pasta sludge into the trash.

The next time you’re about to do something and you sense the need to be careful or to hold off on doing something – like throwing away package wrappers, receipts, whatever – do so!  God gives us a free will, so He doesn’t always step in and restrain us, but He will try to save us from ourselves with unmistakable nudges.  I shoulda listened!  Now I’m not sure if I’m going to get a 100% credit toward the right adapter, and it’s all because I didn’t listen.

Live and learn!

This entry was posted in Life and Living, Unmistakable Nudges. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

