Sunday School Lessons

This year, our youth pastor asked a few people to join the existing group of youth leaders to help out with the high school group.  I was one of the people he asked to consider helping out.  If he had asked me a year ago, I would’ve laughed and said, “No, thank you!!!”

Normally, when The Sgt goes away, I don’t look for extradomestic things to do with my time, but because of what I consider to be a serious disconnect between the youth and the adult women in our church, I have wondered and prayed about how I could be involved with the younger Younger Women in our church, to help bridge the gulf between us.  I was actually excited when the youth pastor included me in the email asking for help.  Finally, a natural way in!  I’ve felt funny about striking up conversation with these young ladies seemingly out of the blue, so now that I see them at least weekly, it’s not weird to say hello and ask how they’re doing.  🙂

We get each week’s lesson during the week with plenty of time to prepare, and I have really enjoyed looking over the lesson a few times before buckling down on Saturday and studying for Sunday.  The passages are so timely for me, personally.  This week’s primary passage is Luke 5:27-32.  I never noticed before that Jesus called Matthew to follow Him and then Matthew threw a party and invited all of his tax collector friends!  I know I’ve read about that before, but I never made the association between Jesus setting Matthew free from his life of crime [Okay, so maybe it wasn’t legally a crime, but I’m pretty sure it was a crime against God to collect taxes the way they did back then] and Matthew almost immediately having a banquet in Christ’s honor and inviting those with like-afflictions.

Matthew Henry certainly didn’t miss that.  If you’d like to read a sweet commentary on this passage, go here.  Here’s an excerpt:

III. It was a wonder of his grace that he would not only admit a converted publican into his family, but would keep company with unconverted publicans, that he might have an opportunity of doing their souls good; he justified himself in it, as agreeing with the great design of his coming into the world.  Here is a wonder of grace indeed, that Christ undertakes to be the Physician of souls distempered by sin, and ready to die of the distemper (he is a Healer by office, Luk_5:32) – that he has a particular regard to the sick, to sinners as his patients, convinced awakened sinners, that see their need of the Physician – that he came to call sinners, the worst of sinners, to repentance, and to assure them of pardon, upon repentance, Luk_5:31.  These are glad tidings of great joy indeed.

Well, it’s almost 2 a.m. and I have a headache.   I suppose I should shut ‘er down and close my eyes before I miss my chance.

God bless!

This entry was posted in Church, Deployment, Gospel of Luke, Life and Living and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

